Skip to content

Uran: Middle School Arc Was Planned Well In Advance

by on February 19, 2017

ss2017-02-19at04-37-27

Our lord and master Uran-sensei wrote a blog post today dispelling rumors that he was somehow forced to timeslip Shouta into middle school or do the opposite. Spoilers for the new chapter can be found here and our version will be out by Monday.

About the middle-school chapters, I’ve had a look at your opinion on the internet, including those that espouse pessimism or speculations.

As far as I’ve seen, the reaction has been mostly positive, so I had remained in lurker mode, but here I will answer questions about the middle-school arc that I’ve received on Twitter.

This arc has already been plotted out back when I progressed the story’s timeline [in the 9th volume, from the never-ending period just before summer break]. The plans were to have our hero go see his older classmates, then have him return in a span of three chapters. The evidence pointing to that can be found in how those chapters were numbered (“Puberty in Paradise: Parts 1-3”).

In addition, since it’s my style to build up a stock of drafts submitted beforehand, the draft for “Puberty in Paradise: Part 3” was already drawn out when I received the reader survey responses for “Puberty in Paradise: Part 1.” So I did not send Shouta back to grade school after receiving bad reviews, nor was this whole arc done haphazardly on the fly (^^

The questioner apparently liked the middle-school chapters, and I’m glad I went that route. I also hope you’re all excited about the coming developments back in grade school.

The blogpost can be read in full below the jump:

Mole Screening

There are two moles that are worrying me, so I decided to go visit a dermatologist.

One is located in my mustache.

That mole has protruded to such an extent that I would definitely cut it if I were to shave my mustache. Since that’s not exactly my cup of tea, I’ve usually let my stache grow out. I could count the number of times I’ve shaved that facial hair past my 20th birthday.

However, they say mustache moles grow larger as you age, so I’ve always thought of getting rid of it.

Another one is at the sole of my foot.

That one started developing circa five years ago. It started out as a small, faint dot, but now it has turned into an even 4mm spot that is clearly dark. I’ve been thinking that it’d be better to remove it while it’s still small, in case it’s malignant.

Apparently, a whole lot of cases of mole-based cancer originate from the soles. That’s because neither the soles nor the palms of the hand have much melanin. Even black people have pretty pale soles and palms, so it would be unnatural for melanin to congregate and produce a mole in those parts.

Also, they say the soles of the feet are prone to cell mutations since those parts receive constant stimulus from daily activity. Yes, it’s only one theory and there could be other explanations, but I am that big of a worrywart.

So I looked for a neighborhood clinic that specialized in dermatology, screening moles and removing them. I ended up at one run by a female doctor who also engages in cosmetic surgery. Because of that specialty, her office just installed a state-of-the-art carbon dioxide laser treatment equipment, which sold me.

The screening only involved something called dermoscopy, which is really just looking through a glorified magnifying glass. “Okay, the one on your foot has a benign pattern,” said the doctor. “There’s no problem with the one on your face either, but since it is protruding, your insurance will cover its removal.”

So yours truly will be heading to the doctor’s office tomorrow to have it taken out. They’ll put me on anesthetics then chip at the mole with the laser for roughly five minutes (^^; *cold sweat*

About the middle-school chapters, I’ve had a look at your opinion on the internet, including those that espouse pessimism or speculations.

As far as I’ve seen, the reaction has been mostly positive, so I had remained in lurker mode, but here I will answer questions about the middle-school arc that I’ve received on Twitter.

This arc has already been plotted out back when I progressed the story’s timeline [in the 9th volume, from the never-ending period just before summer break]. The plans were to have our hero go see his older classmates, then have him return in a span of three chapters. The evidence pointing to that can be found in how those chapters were numbered (“Puberty in Paradise: Parts 1-3”).

In addition, since it’s my style to build up a stock of drafts submitted beforehand, the copy for “Puberty in Paradise: Part 3” was already drawn out when I received the reader survey responses for “Puberty in Paradise: Part 1.” So I did not send Shouta back to grade school after receiving bad reviews, nor was this whole arc done haphazardly on the fly (^^

The questioner apparently liked the middle-school chapters, and I’m glad I went that route. I also hope you’re all excited about the coming developments back in grade school.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. psicomenace permalink

    Awwww, I was really eaer to read more of older Shouta on company, well I can barely wait to read your translation of the new chapter but it was wonderful to read this translated entry of the blog of the author so really thanks a lot.

  2. I never doubted URAN. Mujaki no Rakuen is my favorite manga, and things are clearly well planned and executed.

  3. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

